Shop for your favorite fan gear at Fanatics!

A brief history of Thibodaux
Henry S. Thibodeaux
La. State Museum
According to research by the late William Littlejohn Martin, Thibodaux was founded in the 1820s by Henry Schuyler Thibodeaux. Thibodeaux bought a farm owned by Henry Johnson along Bayou Lafourche in 1818 and had it surveyed and subdivided into lots in 1820. Although the state Legislature passed articles of incorporation for Thibodeauxville in 1830, and amended those articles in 1832, the articles of incorporation were not implemented. The city dates its incorporation to March 10, 1838, when the act to incorporate the town was approved.

The first mayor was James McAllister, who was elected by all 46 voters on May 7, 1838.

Mayors of Thibodaux
Tommy Eschete2010-
Charles Caillouet1998-2010
Warren J. Harang Jr.1994-1998
Alton "Checkerboard" Roundtree1990-1994
Warren J. Harang Jr.1986-1990
Bertrand Hebert1982-1986
John "Pup" Robichaux1978-1982
Warren J. Harang Jr.1966-1978
Leonard J. Toups1954-1966
Charles E. Delas1934-1954
Dr. C.N. Folse1927-1934
Nemours T. Bourg1917-1926*
Frank R. Harmon1915-1917
Albert J. Trone1913-1915
P.J. Aucoin1907-1913
W.C. Ragan1903-1907
Frank Zernott1896-1903
W.C. Ragan1892-1896
J. Louis Aucoin1888-1892
I.D. Moore1886-1888
J. Louis Aucoin1882-1886
Hudson W. Tabor1880-1882
W.C. Ragan1878-1880
Silas T. Grisamore1877-1878
P.E. Lorio1873-1877
A. Perin1872-1873
Hudson W. Tabor1871-1972
I.F. Riviere1868-1871
Silas T. Grisamore1865-1868
Leo Hymel1861-1865
Silas T. Grisamore1860-1861
Valmona D. Terrebonne1859-1860
J.F. Riviere1858-1859
John C. White1855-1858
Valmona D. Terrebonne1853-1855
Leufroy Daunis1852-1853
Elie R. Bourg1850-1852
G.A. Knobloch1848-1850
Louis Bush1846-1848
Joseph R. Niles1845-1846
James A. Scudday1840-1845
Newcomb Hunt1839-1840
Alexander Lawson1839
James McAllister1838
* -- Trustee of Public Safety
from 1918-1926

From information compiled by William Littlejohn Martin

This site works best with Netscape

© 2001 by Eddie "Bush" Bernard